New Zealand Spirit of Service Awards finalists announced

Image of Peter Hughes facing the camera and smiling.
  • Published Date: 05 July 2019

Outstanding public sector achievement in New Zealand will be recognised in this year’s Spirit of Service Awards.

New Zealand State Services Commissioner and ANZSOG Chair, Peter Hughes, has announced the finalists, saying that judges have been impressed with the quality of entries.

“I feel immensely proud of the many achievements that have been put forward by organisations across central and local government,” he said.

“They have all demonstrated not only public sector excellence, but a spirit of service to the community. That spirit of service underpins everything we do as public servants, and these awards celebrate leadership delivering exceptional outcomes for New Zealanders. 

“We received a total of 84 nominations across five categories. Thanks to all who took the time to nominate, and congratulations to all our finalists.”

WATCH: Peter Hughes discuss the spirit of service

The five award categories are:

  • Better Outcomes Award / Te Tohu mō ngā Hua E Pai Ake Ana
  • Service Excellence Award / Te Tohu mō te Ratonga Whakahirahira
  • Māori Crown Relationships Award / Te Tohu mō te Tūhonotanga a Ngāi Māori me te Karauna
  • Leadership in Governance Award / Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Mahi Whakahaere
  • Young Leader of the Year Award / Te Tohu mō te Kaiārahi Rangatahi o te Tau 

Two special awards will also be presented, which were not open for nominations: the Prime Minister’s Award, which will be selected from the winners of the first four categories; and the Lifetime Achievement Award, which will be presented to honour an individual who has made an exceptional contribution to their community and who exemplifies a spirit of service.

Winners will be announced at an evening event at Te Papa, Wellington, on 12 September. ANZSOG is one of the sponsors of the awards, along with Westpac, Deloitte, Skills, and Victoria University of Wellington School of Government.