ANZSOG alumni recognised in Queen’s Birthday Honours List

Order of Australia medal
  • Published Date: 12 June 2018

Several ANZSOG Alumni and board member Robyn Kruk have had their service to Australia recognised in the 2018 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

The Order of Australia and Public Service Medal awards recognise outstanding careers in the public service and commitment to serving the community.

ANZSOG Board member Robyn Kruk was made an Officer in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AO): “for distinguished service to public administration, particularly through mental health reform, to environmental protection and natural resource management, and to food standards”. 

During her distinguished career Ms Kruk has been director-general of NSW Health, director-general of the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet, and the inaugural CEO of the National Mental Health Commission. She is currently deputy chair of Mental Health Australia and a board member of the National Disability Insurance Agency.

Anne Banks-McAllister, from the West Australian Local Government Association, was made a Member in the General Division of the Order of Australia (AM): “for significant service to women through roles advancing gender equality, particularly in local government”.

Ms Banks-McAllister was part of ANZSOG’s Excellence in Local Government program in 2011, and is a former president of the Australian Local Government Women’s Association (WA branch) and chair of WA’s Women’s Health and Family Services Board.

Terry Garwood, a deputy secretary in Victoria’s Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning, was awarded the Public Service Medal (PSM): “for outstanding public service across multiple policy areas, and to public sector diversity and inclusion in Victoria”.

Mr Garwood was part of ANZSOG’s China Reciprocal Program in 2014. He is Victoria’s most senior Indigenous public servant, and has been a strong advocate for diversity and inclusion, as well as an influential and passionate leader working collaboratively for the communities he serves. Additionally, he has been a champion of the Victorian Government's contribution to the development of public administration in Timor-Leste. 

Denise McLaughlin, a director of child protection services in Victoria’s Department of Health and Human Services, was also awarded a Public Service Medal: “for outstanding public service to the delivery of child protection services in Victoria”.

Ms McLaughlin completed the Executive Fellows Program in 2013 and has been a champion of reform programs with the Victorian child protection system which have achieved outstanding results. She has recognised that Indigenous children flourish and develop when connected to family, culture and country and she has been a strong advocate for this to be an integral part of Victoria's child protection policies and programs.

These graduates exemplify the professionalism and dedication that ANZSOG programs aim to foster among public servants. ANZSOG congratulates them for receiving these honours.