The NRCoP is governed by a Steering Group. Current Chair and membership is outlined below.

The Steering Group is responsible for:

  • Designing a program of free events for regulators (approximately three per annum per jurisdiction), across all the jurisdictions which have become part of the NRCoP
  • Individually and collectively acting as ambassadors for the NRCoP in their agencies and sectors
  • Designing a thought provoking and interactive program for the annual paying regulators forum
  • Identifying themes, topics and appropriate experts (scholarly and/or practitioners) of interest and benefit to practising regulators in each member jurisdiction
  • Attending, facilitating and/or presenting at events themselves as appropriate
  • Ensuring that the membership of the Steering Group and events offered by the NRCoP remain relevant and stimulating for public sector regulators and other interested professionals
  • Identifying resources and links to ensure the NRCoP website hosted by ANZSOG remains useful and up to date
  • Attending Steering Group meetings (3-4 per annum).

Membership of the NRCoP Steering Group


  • Mr Simon Cohen, Deputy Secretary Regulation and Director of Consumer Affairs, Victorian Department of Justice and Regulation


  • Mr Adam Beaumont, Asia-Pacific Regional Director, Forest Stewardship Council
  • Mr Simon Corden, Director Management Consulting, KPMG
  • Ms Pauline Ireland, Director Health and Human Services Regulation, Victorian Department of Health and Human Services
  • Ms Margot Johnson, Director of the Office of Medicinal Cannabis, DHHS
  • Ms Kate Maddern, Director Public Transport Regulatory Operations, Transport for Victoria
  • Ms Cassandra Meagher, Executive Director Policy and Regulation, ServiceVictoria
  • Dr John Hamill, Chief Executive Officer, Essential Servic es Commission
  • Mr Paul Fowler, Acting Executive Director Health and Safety, WorkSafe Victoria
  • Mr Damien Wells, Executive Director, Regulatory Capability, Environment Protection Authority

Corresponding members: other jurisdictions

  • Lanie Chopping, Director, Retail & Services, Consumer Protection, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety (Western Australia)
  • Omar Ameer, Director Regulatory Performance, Regulatory Capability and Customer Service Branch, Department of Environment and Science


Academic Advisor

Pracademic Advisor

  • Dr Grant Pink, Managing Director RECAP Consultants