The Australia and New Zealand School of Government Limited – ANZSOG – was established in 2002 by a consortium of governments, universities and business schools as a not-for-profit public company limited by guarantee.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors has overall responsibility for the organisation, setting direction and overseeing the effectiveness of delivery against strategy.

Our Board of Directors are:

  • Mr Peter Hughes CNZM (Chair), New Zealand State Services Commissioner and Head of State Services
  • Professor Ken Smith, Chief Executive and Dean, ANZSOG
  • Mr Chris Eccles AO, Secretary, Victoria Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Professor Margaret Gardner AO, President and Vice-Chancellor, Monash University
  • Ms Emma Hogan, NSW Public Service Commissioner
  • Professor Girol Karacaoglu, Head of School, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Ms Robyn Kruk AM, Independent Director
  • Ms Jodie Ryan, Chief Executive, Department of the Chief Minister, Northern Territory
  • Mr Robert Setter, Chief Executive, Public Service Commission, Queensland
  • Dame Karen Sewell DNZM QSO, Independent Director
  • Professor Deborah Terry, Vice Chancellor, Curtin University
  • Mr Peter Woolcott AO, Australian Public Service Commissioner. 

Committees of the Board

The Board can establish its own committees from time to time and currently has five committees.

Committee membership comprises Board Directors and individuals who bring relevant expertise to the Committee’s deliberations in providing advice to the Board.

The current committees are:

  • Foundation and Investment Committee – providing advice to the Board and oversight of the School’s Foundation Trust and investment portfolio.
  • Audit and Risk Management Committee – providing oversight of the School’s audit and risk functions, and recommending appropriate actions to the Board.
  • Research Committee – providing advice and direction on the School’s research agenda, ensuring close alignment with member government priorities.
  • International Committee – assisting the Board set direction for the School’s international engagement priorities.
  • Remuneration Committee – comprises a small group of Directors only to oversee the performance of the School’s CEO and Dean.

Governing committees

At the management level, two governing committees oversee ANZSOG’s operations and its strategic and academic direction:

  • The Executive Management Team (EMT) is the decision-making forum for strategy and project implementation, communications, technology, programs and program delivery, human resources, finances and other organisational matters. 
  • The Academic Management Team (AMT) is for advice and recommendations to the Dean/CEO and EMT on the teaching and learning strategy and its implementation, faculty and content development, as well as planning for, review/refresh and delivery of accredited and non-accredited programs (to meet government needs). 

Our auditors

Deloitte have been ANZSOG’s external auditors since 2013, with the previous auditors, KPMG having undertaken audit services for the ten years prior. Deloitte provide statutory audit services in accordance with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission Act 2012 and all applicable accounting standards.

In 2016, ANZSOG appointed Grant Thornton as internal auditors following the retirement of the School’s previous internal auditor. Grant Thornton provide assurance services across the School’s operations, consistent with our risk framework, seeking to ensure the School maintains better practice across its operations.

Legal Framework

ANZSOG is incorporated in Australia under the Corporations Act 2001 as a company limited by guarantee and is an income tax exempt charity. ANZSOG operates under a Constitution approved by all current member universities and governments.